Oregon · verified official-source register

Oregon Privacy Enforcement Cases

3 approved, official-source case records from the 50-state register. Dates, amounts, legal context and disposition qualifications are supported by the cited evidence.

3 primary case-source links · 3 unique primary source URLs

Last editorial review (targeted corrections): · Last link check (automated availability check):

Actual case links

Oregon case register

Each record cites an official Attorney General or state-agency source. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties. Additional verification sources are identified when an amount has been reconciled.

Verified case 1 of 3

Blackbaud

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$49.5 million payment to the states; Oregon’s share: $655,791.00
Legal basis
State consumer protection laws, breach notification laws, and HIPAA

Why the action was brought

Blackbaud’s deficient data security and response to a 2020 ransomware event exposed personal and protected health information, including contact, demographic, Social Security, driver’s-license, financial, employment, wealth, donation, and health data. It allegedly failed to implement reasonable security, remediate known gaps, and provide timely, complete, accurate breach information, delaying or preventing consumer notification.

View Official Multistate Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 2 of 3

Premera Blue Cross, known in Oregon as LifeWise Health Plan of Oregon

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$10 million settlement; Oregon will receive $1.3 million
Legal basis
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); federal and state laws

Why the action was brought

Premera failed to address known cybersecurity vulnerabilities and maintain adequate administrative, physical, and technical safeguards. A spear-phishing email installed malware, allowing a hacker nearly a year of unrestricted access to personal and protected health information, including names, addresses, Social Security numbers, health information, member numbers, bank details, and email addresses of millions.

View Official Multistate Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 3 of 3

Avalon Healthcare Management

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$200,000 settlement; Oregon's share: $100,000
Legal basis
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and state breach notification statutes, including Oregon law requiring notice of a security breach in the most expeditious manner, but no more than 45 days after discovery

Why the action was brought

In July 2019, a scammer accessed an Avalon employee’s email after a phishing scam. The breach exposed names, addresses, Social Security numbers, dates of birth, driver’s license numbers, medical treatment information, and limited financial information of 14,500 employees and patients. Avalon notified affected individuals approximately 10 months later, exceeding Oregon’s 45-day requirement.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

This register contains approved, official-source privacy, data-breach and data-security enforcement records. Read any case-specific court-approval qualification; inclusion does not confirm payment or final judgment. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties.

Original case-library snapshot: August 23, 2026. Original state-law research cutoff: August 25, 2026. Monetary-library update: September 16, 2026, not a new full 50-state research cutoff. Targeted Indiana and New Hampshire law review: October 19, 2026 only. Source inclusion does not independently confirm final court entry or payment.