Nebraska · verified official-source register

Nebraska Privacy Enforcement Cases

3 approved, official-source case records from the 50-state register. Dates, amounts, legal context and disposition qualifications are supported by the cited evidence.

3 primary case-source links · 3 unique primary source URLs

Last editorial review (targeted corrections): · Last link check (automated availability check):

Actual case links

Nebraska case register

Each record cites an official Attorney General or state-agency source. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties. Additional verification sources are identified when an amount has been reconciled.

Verified case 1 of 3

Marriott International, Inc.

Date
Wednesday, October 9, 2024
Amount
$52 million payment to states; Nebraska will receive $707,448.00
Legal basis
state consumer protection laws, personal information protection laws, and, where applicable, breach notification laws

Why the action was brought

Marriott settled allegations that it violated state consumer protection laws, personal information protection laws, and, where applicable, breach notification laws. Intruders went undetected from July 2014 through September 2018, compromising 131.5 million U.S. guest records, including contact and reservation information, preferences, and limited unencrypted passport and payment-card data, after Marriott acquired and integrated Starwood.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 2 of 3

Experian; T-Mobile; Experian Data Corp. (“EDC”)

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$12.67 million settlement with Experian; $2.43 million settlement with T-Mobile; additional $1 million payment by Experian Data Corp.; combined amount of more than $16 million; Nebraska will receive $139,279
Legal basis
No specific statutes or laws cited in the document

Why the action was brought

Experian experienced a 2015 breach in which an unauthorized actor accessed personal information—including names, addresses, birth dates, Social Security numbers, and identification numbers—of more than 15 million T-Mobile applicants, including 4,790 Nebraska residents. EDC failed to prevent or provide notice of a 2012 breach after an identity thief obtained sensitive commercial database information.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 3 of 3

Sabre Corporation

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$2.4 million; Nebraska will receive $43,006; injunctive relief
Legal basis
No statutes or laws cited

Why the action was brought

The settlement resolves an investigation into a breach of Sabre Hospitality Solutions’ hotel booking system occurring between August 2016 and March 2017. The breach exposed approximately 1.3 million credit cards. Hotels provided consumer notices, some as late as 2018, and some consumers received multiple notices for the same breach. The document does not identify a specific statutory violation or other failure.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

This register contains approved, official-source privacy, data-breach and data-security enforcement records. Read any case-specific court-approval qualification; inclusion does not confirm payment or final judgment. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties.

Original case-library snapshot: August 23, 2026. Original state-law research cutoff: August 25, 2026. Monetary-library update: September 16, 2026, not a new full 50-state research cutoff. Targeted Indiana and New Hampshire law review: October 19, 2026 only. Source inclusion does not independently confirm final court entry or payment.