Maine · verified official-source register

Maine Privacy Enforcement Cases

3 approved, official-source case records from the 50-state register. Dates, amounts, legal context and disposition qualifications are supported by the cited evidence.

3 primary case-source links · 3 unique primary source URLs

Last editorial review (targeted corrections): · Last link check (automated availability check):

Actual case links

Maine case register

Each record cites an official Attorney General or state-agency source. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties. Additional verification sources are identified when an amount has been reconciled.

Verified case 1 of 3

Blackbaud

Date
October 5, 2023
Amount
$49.5 million; Maine will receive $412k
Legal basis
state consumer protection laws, breach notification laws, and HIPAA

Why the action was brought

Blackbaud’s software stored highly sensitive consumer data, including Social Security and driver’s-license numbers, financial, employment, donation, demographic, and protected health information. It allegedly failed to implement reasonable security or remediate known gaps, permitting unauthorized network access, and failed to provide timely, complete, or accurate breach information, significantly delaying or preventing consumer notification.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 2 of 3

TD Bank, N.A.

Date
October 16, 2014
Amount
Total settlement amount not stated; Maine share: $130,015
Legal basis
None stated

Why the action was brought

TD Bank lost unencrypted backup tapes in Massachusetts containing 1.4 million files accumulated over eight to ten years, including personal information of about 260,000 customers nationwide and approximately 34,000 Maine customers. The settlement addressed consumer-protection and privacy claims and required stronger security, encryption, notification, policy review, and employee training.

View Official Multistate Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 3 of 3

Anthem

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
injunctive relief only
Legal basis
none stated

Why the action was brought

Anthem’s systems were infiltrated beginning in February 2014 through malware installed via a phishing email. Attackers accessed its data warehouse and harvested names, dates of birth, Social Security numbers, healthcare identification numbers, addresses, email addresses, phone numbers, and employment information affecting 78.8 million Americans, including 531,717 Maine residents.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

This register contains approved, official-source privacy, data-breach and data-security enforcement records. Read any case-specific court-approval qualification; inclusion does not confirm payment or final judgment. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties.

Original case-library snapshot: August 23, 2026. Original state-law research cutoff: August 25, 2026. Monetary-library update: September 16, 2026, not a new full 50-state research cutoff. Targeted Indiana and New Hampshire law review: October 19, 2026 only. Source inclusion does not independently confirm final court entry or payment.