Kansas · verified official-source register

Kansas Privacy Enforcement Cases

1 approved, official-source case record from the 50-state register. Dates, amounts, legal context and disposition qualifications are supported by the cited evidence.

1 primary case-source link · 1 unique primary source URL

Last editorial review (targeted corrections): · Last link check (automated availability check):

Actual case links

Kansas case register

Each record cites an official Attorney General or state-agency source. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties. Additional verification sources are identified when an amount has been reconciled.

Verified case 1 of 1

Black Hills Corporation

Date
2025-10-02
Amount
$325,000; state share not separately stated
Legal basis
Kansas Consumer Protection Act

Why the action was brought

The State alleged that Black Hills Energy shared consumers’ sensitive data with third-parties without their knowledge or consent and misrepresented its privacy policy to Kansas consumers. The document does not state a specific resulting harm. The consent judgment requires accurate privacy practices and disclosures concerning optional services, termination rights, and regulatory status.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

This register contains approved, official-source privacy, data-breach and data-security enforcement records. Read any case-specific court-approval qualification; inclusion does not confirm payment or final judgment. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties.

Original case-library snapshot: August 23, 2026. Original state-law research cutoff: August 25, 2026. Monetary-library update: September 16, 2026, not a new full 50-state research cutoff. Targeted Indiana and New Hampshire law review: October 19, 2026 only. Source inclusion does not independently confirm final court entry or payment.