Arizona · verified official-source register

Arizona Privacy Enforcement Cases

3 approved, official-source case records from the 50-state register. Dates, amounts, legal context and disposition qualifications are supported by the cited evidence.

3 primary case-source links · 3 unique primary source URLs

Last editorial review (targeted corrections): · Last link check (automated availability check):

Actual case links

Arizona case register

Each record cites an official Attorney General or state-agency source. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties. Additional verification sources are identified when an amount has been reconciled.

Verified case 1 of 3

Uber Technologies, Inc.

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$148 million to the states; Arizona’s share: $2,738,794.47
Legal basis
Arizona data-breach and consumer-protection law

Why the action was brought

In November 2016, hackers gained access to personal information Uber maintained about its drivers, including driver’s license information pertaining to approximately 600,000 drivers nationwide. Arizona law required Uber to notify affected Arizona residents, but Uber failed to report the breach in a timely manner and waited until November 2017.

View Official Multistate Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 2 of 3

Anthem, Inc.

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$39.5 million; over $280,000 to Arizona
Legal basis
HB2154; Arizona's data breach consumer protection laws

Why the action was brought

Cyber attackers infiltrated Anthem’s systems using malware installed through a phishing email and accessed its data warehouse. Anthem failed to prevent unauthorized access to names, birth dates, Social Security numbers, healthcare identification numbers, addresses, email addresses, phone numbers, and employment information affecting 78.8 million Americans, including over 400,000 Arizona residents.

View Official Multistate Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

Verified case 3 of 3

Blackbaud

Date
not stated in the official release
Amount
$49.5 million payment to states; Arizona will receive more than $1.8 million
Legal basis
state consumer protection laws, data breach notification laws, and HIPAA

Why the action was brought

Blackbaud allegedly failed to implement reasonable data security and remediate known security gaps, allowing unauthorized persons to access its network and exposing personal information of millions of consumers during a 2020 ransomware event. It allegedly delayed or failed to notify affected consumers and provided customers with incomplete or inaccurate breach information.

View Official Case Source ↗ (opens in a new tab)

This register contains approved, official-source privacy, data-breach and data-security enforcement records. Read any case-specific court-approval qualification; inclusion does not confirm payment or final judgment. Shared multistate amounts should not be summed as unique state penalties.

Original case-library snapshot: August 23, 2026. Original state-law research cutoff: August 25, 2026. Monetary-library update: September 16, 2026, not a new full 50-state research cutoff. Targeted Indiana and New Hampshire law review: October 19, 2026 only. Source inclusion does not independently confirm final court entry or payment.